Memories Under Glass: Medievia

My interest in online worlds and games began quite a long time ago.  I’m not sure which one was the first online game I played, though.  I know I tried out the original Neverwinter Nights on AOL, and for a time we also had Prodigy and I tried out Compuserve.  I spent time somewhere with a crude 4X game (I think) called TradeWars, and I played various games on the GEnie service along with spending time in the RoundTables (RT) there (the precursor to these new-fangled “forums”…the Justice League: GEnie group in the Comics RT in particular was pretty hilarious).

However, the clearest memories I have was a game called Medievia.  It was a text based MUD that my siblings got me into when I was probably around 10-12 (so 1992-1994-ish).  Compared to other MUDs I tried later, it felt like a fully realized world, and introduced many words into my vocabulary like quaff (the only way to drink potions) and formation (a 3×3 grid for your group used to employ a rudimentary form of aggro control and tanking).

First thing you see when you log in

The game was at version 3 when I started playing (sometime in 1994 likely) and the lands were like other MUDS, just a series of rooms connected to each other to form cities, dungeons, and landscape.  Later they would upgrade to a Medievia version 4, which added a fully built world with millions of wilderness rooms built into an ASCII landscape, where dragons could randomly land and start rampaging through towns, natural disasters could devastate an area, caravans could be acquired for trading and to help you survive on the roads, and a death system that STILL makes me wish someone would implement something like it in modern MMOs as it’s pretty freaking cool.

Welcome to Hell

Welcome to Hell. Fortunately you can't die here...let's not try to see if that's true.

Medievia was the source for many early memories, and the origins to one or two character names I still use.  I joined a clan (guilds in current terminology) called Cheese, Inc., probably the best name for a clan/guild I’ve ever heard.  The names changed during my time, from Cheese, Inc. to El Queso Grande, to Cheese, and other variations.

Probably my favorite memory was when the clan leader brought us into the clan hall, where it was previously declared a Public PK (Player Kill) zone, and then over the course of our party would slowly close and lock all doors leading out of the clan hall.  After he locked the final door, someone finally noticed and called it to our attention, at which point he grinned evilly and proceeded to slaughter us all (being a pretty badass character himself).  All in good fun, of course.  I think we were all too busy laughing at the absurdity to fight back though.  Rotten fish slapping may have been involved at some point, I forget.

Wandering the world of Medievia IV

Looking back, Medievia inspired many ideas that would later fuel my imagination about possible games I would make “if I only had the time”.  Among the features that stood out to me were:

  • A fully realized world map (in ASCII code) made of millions of rooms you could explore almost entirely, provided you could survive.
  • A multi-class system allowing you to go back and continue building your character in other classes even after reaching max level (31).
  • A death system where you wandered as a corpse and could either wait 20 minutes and pray at an altar for resurrection…or hunt down a necromancer who had taken your soul and kill him to be resurrected sooner.
  • A randomized endgame dungeon called “The Catacombs” or just “The Combs” that actually moved to a new location occasionally.
  • An early random quest system known as Autoquest.
  • An automatic item “tweak” system for looted equipment that would randomly generate some values for items so you could come across a really nice variation purely by accident.
  • Large weather systems, even forest fires that can be started.

It’s no surprise I was hooked, but I don’t think my young brain was capable of understanding the possibilities online worlds held that were slowly being absorbed through this magical new medium.

Think you're good? Try taking on three sea serpents. That small white ship in the center? That's you.

It also taught me to type extremely fast.  Combat updates would occur regardless of what you were doing, and attacks and spells needed to be typed out on a command line.  Sure there were shorthand commands, but I never used them (and therefore never bothered to learn), preferring instead to type out something like “cast greater healing on Soandso” instead of “c gh on Soandso”.  After a while you begin to learn to type fast as a survival mechanism.  For some reason I never had the courage to tell my school computer lab teachers what was actually causing my typing speed to rocket past everyone else.  They probably wouldn’t have cared in the slightest and may have even been interested in this method of training, but it strangely felt like cheating to me to be using a game to get better at typing.  It just didn’t feel like practice…just fun.

Only you can prevent forest fires...well crap.

However, as happens with all games eventually, I started to drift away during my sophomore year, and completely stopped prior to my Junior year despite having at least one friend still playing.  I tried seeing if other MUDs were worthwhile, but Medievia had a magic for me that few other MUDs could replicate, and indeed many games still fail at some of the more interesting mechanics present (as noted above).  I now realize it was a factor of “it just clicked” and was my first foray into these online worlds, but back then I barely understood the ramifications this game would have on me.  Games for me after that were mostly console and adventure games like the King’s Quest/Space Quest series, as I did not have a powerful enough computer to handle more graphically advanced games that were beginning/already appeared.

My gaming habits would stagnate as more important things came into focus…like graduating, picking a college, and figuring out what I wanted to do with this crazy thing we call a life.  Now…completing two out of three of those wasn’t bad, at least it got me out of my hometown and set me up for some of the biggest changes in my life…even if it still took several years after to get that third item done.  I wouldn’t get seriously back into gaming until I began college and had more personal freedom than ever, as well as my own PC (more on that later).

Interestingly enough, Medievia is still active, free, and still improving the game over 20 years since they started.  I recently found their website and while nostalgia certainly hit in, the game has grown far beyond what I played and I don’t know if I could ever go back.  It was an early time in my gaming life that I wish I could impart upon newer generations to get a feel of where these games have come from, so that where we are now becomes all the more incredible and amazing, and put in the proper frame.  Looking at the current features, part of me thinks it might also make them a little disappointed that several of these features just aren’t common or even non-existent in most modern and “better” games, such as ship fights, natural catastrophes (floods, forest fires, diseases, and meteor storms), and weather systems that empower your magic.

So sad…

http://www.medievia.com – Do You Dare Enter?

Images taken from Medievia’s website, hosted by myself, as well as from my own playing.

5 responses to “Memories Under Glass: Medievia

  1. I remember Medievia! I played a ton back in the days before Med 4… when I had a file in notepad that would get me to this altar north of the town square and quite a bit after the transition. The first time I played I didn’t get really far (in hindsight… I went about it wrong… should have started as a cleric…) and then I picked up the game again while recovering from surgery in 2005 and got a character from lv1 to lv 122 in less than 2 months. (Really easy to do when you’re confined to bed most of the time.) This post brought back a lot of nostalgic feelings for me.

    • Thanks for the comment! Yes, it brought back a lot of nostalgia for me too (as did the next post). I originally started as a Thief, and ended up rerolling as a Cleric because I got to level 19ish and just couldn’t do much. Of course I didn’t last too long after that either, so it may not have been the character itself.

  2. Hi! If you remember the Justice League: GEnie (originally Justice League: Massachusetts) from GEnie’s Comics and Animation RoundTable (Comics RT), you may remember me: “Nun of the Above” of the JL:MA and JL:Genie. Great to see someone else who remembers it!

    • That name does sound familiar. I wasn’t involved in it personally (I mainly just read), but my sister was known as Short Term Memory Lass. I also remember someone named “Lady Godiva” and some sort of hamster character, and a fight against a vampiric Barney. I might see if we have anything saved off or archived somewhere, maybe in stored printouts. I wasn’t around until it was already known as JL:GEnie.

      Good to hear from someone else who still looks around for these things from way back when.

  3. Lol, nice story about Med. I played Medievia for several years around that same time frame and have you agree with you that it does contain a ton of interesting ideas that should be implemted today. I was a clanleader of two different guilds and ran with this one guild called Rofl Rogues of a Forbidden Legion or League…been awhile. You may remember me from in-game. My name was Jaysen on the game(goes along with my real life name). Good times…definately one of the best open world games ever to this day.

Leave a Reply

