Memories Under Glass

I just want to go ahead and say this right now: I’ve played a lot of games in my life.

I started playing games way back when I was a really young child, maybe around 5-7 years old (i.e. ~1987-89), with King’s Quest on an IBM PC Jr. and Super Mario Bros on the NES.  In the intervening time many games have come and gone.  Some were highly forgettable, others shaped my perceptions and interests to the point that even today I can look back and remember it fondly.

This category of posts are mainly about those games which affected me in some significant way, either by introducing me to a new type of game, providing some benefit even beyond the game itself, or hits me with nostalgia like a brick.  Some games were fun, but are most remembered because it brings back memories of friends or times in my life.

Essentially these posts will be about my memories of games that affected me, put on display for the world to see, as if they were under glass in a museum display.  To put something under glass essentially means that you recognize its worth and value.  It symbolizes your intent to protect it and remember it, as I am doing by posting them instead of leaving them just in my head.  Therefore, these are my memories under glass.

Leave a Reply

